Day 1

Recipes featured: Homemade Mayonnaise, Paleo Hacks’ Beef Stew (link)

Happy first Monday of 2015! I hope everyone is starting the year off right with a positive outlook on life and determination to enjoy the year.
For me and Blaine, we are taking on another Whole 30 Challenge in hopes to detox from Christmas feasting (and candy,) and to get our brains back on the track of eating real, God-made food.
If you click on the link above, you can read all about the Whole 30 program and how it’s supposed to work.
Here are the very basic rules of the challenge:

EAT THIS:

  • Meat
  • Lots of vegetables
  • Fruit
  • Nuts and Seeds

DON’T CONSUME:

  • Sugar in any form, including artificial sweeteners
  • Grains
  • Dairy
  • Legumes
  • Soy
  • Alcohol

I have done 2 previous Whole 30 Challenges and I guess you could call me a little obsessed. The way I feel and the things I learn are what makes this “diet” so great. I’ve had a lot of people ask about the challenge, many interested in taking it themselves.

So here I am, documenting the way I eat for the next 30 days. I really hope that these meals, photos, and recipes inspire you to eat foods that are beneficial to your body and health. Hopefully this will be a guide for many of you to follow on your own journey (:

DSCN1791

  • Eggs
  • Half an avocado
  • “Bulletproof Coffee”: 10oz coffee, 1Tbsp extra virgin coconut oil, and a dash of cinnamon. (Blended)

DSCN1799

  • Whole 30 BLT

Homemade Mayo:

  • 1 large egg
  • juice of 1/2 a small lemon
  • 1/4 tsp mustard
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup of Extra Light Tasting Olive OIl.

Method: Add all ingredients in a large jar or measuring bowl. Blend with a stick blender! I wish I could recommend a different method for this, but the stick blender is the only surefire way to get mayo 99% of the time. BE SURE the stick blender is touching bottom of jar and leave it that way for 20 seconds as you blend. After 20 seconds, slowly pull the blender upward until all the oil is turned to mayo!

DSCN1802

Paleo Hacks’ Crockpot Beef Stew- http://blog.paleohacks.com/quick-easy-crockpot-beef-stew/

So excited to share this journey with you all!
Again, if you have questions about the Whole 30 Program, visit their website at http://www.whole30.com!
Thanks for the encouragement!

Kaitie Holley, housewife

6 thoughts on “Day 1

  1. Thanks for sharing your journey to wholesome and healthy eating. I gained 5lbs the last month just because I ate the ‘bad’ foods and my body responds appropriately. Your pictures look totally yummy. I need to try the home made mayo and the beef stew. You are an inspiration!

  2. Pingback: Day 2 | Kaitie Holley, housewife

  3. Pingback: Day 4 | Kaitie Holley, housewife

  4. Pingback: Day 9 | Kaitie Holley, housewife

  5. Pingback: Day 20 | Kaitie Holley, housewife

  6. Pingback: Honey(less) Mustard | Kaitie Holley, housewife

Leave a Reply

