Cauli-Tots

I have had a crazy amount of people tell me lately that they don’t like cauliflower! Well, I am here to change your minds, folks! I have so many amazing cauliflower recipes and I plan to post every. dang. one.
So I’m hoping somewhere along the way, you who don’t like cauliflower, will have your minds and lives changed by the amazing veggie that can become almost anything.

Here they become “Tater”-tots… minus the tater.

Cauli-Tots

Serves: 2-3

Ingredients:

DSCN17172

 

  • 1 small head of cauliflower, grated (see instructions below)
  • 1/4 cup tapioca flour/starch (pictured in my red jar, click link to see photo of product)
  • 1 tsp salt, divided
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/8 tsp onion powder
  • pinch of ground mustard (optional)
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup almond meal/flour
  • 1/4 cup flaxseed meal
  • 1/3 cup coconut oil for frying

Instructions

First off, let’s grate some cauliflower! You may need a little patience as this part is a little time consuming. With a standard cheese grater, grate cauliflower florets until the whole head is grated. I usually only grate the flower parts well and ditch the stems. Be careful of your fingers! I hope you didn’t work really hard at painting your nails just today like I had done…

DSCN1709

The secret, next, is to blot out all extra moisture in the grated cauliflower. I just use a good hand towel and press down on it in the bowl until the towel is no longer soaking up water. This grating technique is also called “ricing” the cauliflower because it makes awesome rice too, (which I will save for another day!)

Next, to the cauliflower you will add tapioca starch, 1/2 tsp of the salt, and the rest of the spices and give it a good stir with a fork! Tapioca starch is a cheap starch that can easily replace cornstarch. It is used as a binding agent in this recipe.

DSCN1718

 

Add the egg and mix well.

Next, in a separate bowl, mix together almond meal, flaxseed meal, and the remaining 1/2 tsp of salt.
I buy the golden flaxseed meal because it is better looking than the brown flaxseed, but they are both the same thing. This is your coating.

DSCN1726

Heat coconut oil in a small saucepan over med-high heat.

Take your cauliflower mix and roll it into a small tot in the palm of your hand. You will have to get a little messy! And don’t worry, no matter what shape they are, I promise they’ll be yummy all the same. Mine, pictured, should have been a little smaller.

DSCN1727

Add the tot to your coating mix and roll it around until it is covered and then drop the little cutie into the oil.

DSCN1730

Fry them for about 5 minutes each, flipping them around once to get them crispy all around.

DSCN1733

DSCN1734

Serve those babies with some ketchup to a toddler and I swear they would never know the difference! They are perfectly crispy on the outside and have a yummy potato-like inside- I have to say, I was really impressed by these.
So worth the messy kitchen I left behind.

Kaitie Holley, houswife

One thought on “Cauli-Tots

Leave a Reply

