Spinach Spaghetti Squash Lasagna

All hail the first recipe post!!
I decided that the first one should involve one of my favorite things to cook, and that’s why I decided that my Spaghetti Squash Lasagna was the one- because I. LOVE. Spaghetti squash. Or “God-made noodles.” Call it whatever you like, this squash is magical.

Image
When Blaine and I cut out carbohydrates in February of last year, pasta was one of the things that had to go. I swear I threw out 4 full boxes of pasta on that day. I was a little bummed, until I heard about the spaghetti squash and made it for myself! It’s an incredible substitute! I almost couldn’t believe it, but now I can honestly say I will never cook wheat pasta ever agin. Not only is spaghetti squash low in carbs, but it’s also a vegetable! All around better than wheat pasta, and you can hardly taste the difference! It makes great spaghetti on it’s own with some spaghetti sauce, but it also make a fun low-carb take on lasagna.

Here’s the thing- preparing spaghetti squash IS intimidating the first time. But it is easy! Here is the way I prepare and cook mine.

1.  Cut the squash in half lengthwise
DSCN16172. Scoop seeds out of the middle and place face up in a foiled cookie sheet
DSCN1619

3. Drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle with sea salt and pepper

4. Bake in oven at 350° for 1 hour

5. Let cool, then use fork to pull “noodles” out of the squash.
DSCN1629

 

TADA! Easy! I usually prepare my squash whenever I get time to during the day and store it in the fridge so that dinner doesn’t take as long to prepare.
Don’t worry, the worst part is over. So without further ado-

Spaghetti Squash Lasagna

Serving Size: 4-6

 

Ingredients

DSCN1630

  • “Noodles” from 1 Spaghetti Squash
  • 1 cup marinara without any added sugar (I tried a new brand tonight but my favorite is “Priano” brand found at Aldi!)
  • 1 15oz container of whole milk ricotta cheese
  • 10oz box of frozen spinach, thawed and drained (or 2 cups raw)
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 1/2 tsp garlic salt
  • 1/4 tsp parsley
  • 1/4 tsp onion powder
  • 1 1/2 cups shredded mozzarella
  • parmesan cheese

Instructions

Preheat oven to 375°

In a medium bowl, mix together ricotta cheese, spinach, and spices.

ricotta

Then, start layering your casserole dish in the following order- Marinara, spaghetti squash, ricotta mixture, mozzarella, parmesan, spaghetti squash, marinara, ricotta, mozzarella, parmesan.

Collage

Bake in oven for 25-30 minutes or until brown and bubbly

Let cool for about 15 minutes before serving

r

So there you have it! Thank you guys, again, for all the excitement and encouragement you have all expressed to me in regards to what I’m doing with this blog. It means a lot to me!

Kaitie Holley, housewife

6 thoughts on “Spinach Spaghetti Squash Lasagna

  1. Thank you! I have to admit I’m nervous about this. Squash sounds pretty gross to me but I’m going to try it.

    I don’t recall you mentioning this. Did you start off reading a book about this?

    • Chelle, thanks for your comment! Can’t wait to find out what you think about it.
      I have never read a book concerning low carb if that’s what you are asking. In the beginning I read about everything from multiple articles online and many different blogs/personal experience posts.

  2. Pingback: Day 7 | Kaitie Holley, housewife

  3. Pingback: Day 10 | Kaitie Holley, housewife

Leave a Reply

